IAAP Headquarters

Overview - International Association of Administrative Professionals (IAAP)
We are the leading association for Administrative Professionals with membership over 25,000. There are more than 600 chapters located in the United States, Canada, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands with over 10,000 affiliates throughout the world.

IAAP is non-profit, non-union, non-sectarian, and is committed to effecting increased productivity, career development, and quality of work life within the office environment by providing opportunities for educational, personal, and professional growth.

The association is governed and controlled by its members through an elected volunteer Board of Directors.  The International Headquarters is located in Kansas City, Missouri.

IAAP is structured into districts, divisions, and chapters. The Johnson County Chapter is located in the Kansas Division and the Southwest District.

History of IAAP

May 1942, IAAP was established as the National Secretaries Association. The first chartered chapter was the Kaw Chapter in Topeka. In 1954 the Articles of Incorporation were amended to establish an international status. In 1972 the association culminated a 20-year dream with the dedication of Vista Grande, an 11-acre retirement complex in Rio Rancho, near Albuquerque, New Mexico. 1981 brought about a name change to Professional Secretaries International clarifying identity of the members in a new decade for the professional secretary. The Tag line “The Association for Office Professionals” was added to the name of the association in 1994. To better reflect the job titles being used today, the membership voted in August 1998 to change the name once again to the International Association of Administrative Professionals (IAAP).


Learn about The Foundation of IAAP (Merger of the Retirement Trust Foundation, RTF, and the Research and Education Foundation, R&E)

IAAP Kansas Division

2014-2015 Kansas Division Board of Directors

  • President Donna DeGarmo, CAP-OM    
  • President-Elect Kimberley Smoots, CAP-OM    
  • Secretary Cyndi Mullins, CAP-OM    
  • Treasurer Ruth Smith, CAP-OM
  • Parlimentary Advisor Tammy Mapes, CAP-OM

Chapters/Kansas Division

Heartland (Emporia, KS)
Johnson County (Overland Park, KS)  - you are here!
Kaw (Topeka, KS)            
KCK Sunflower (Kansas City, KS)
Minisa (Wichita, KS)

Visit Kansas Division Website